It seems you're using an old browser. In order to view this site correctly, we advise you to upgrade your browser, or try the free Mozilla Firefox.

Browse News & Feature Stories

Keyword search

Stories written by Sean Bieri

26 stories found. Showing page 1 of 1.

Mind in the gutters: An incomplete and highly subjective selection of the sexiest characters in comics

By Sean Bieri

Published: 2/10/2010

Types: Arts, Literature, Comics

From chicks in chainmail bikinis to musclemen in tights, from the Tijuana bibles of old to the latest in panty-flashing fan service from Japan, sex and comics go together like a complete lack of social skills and comics. So here's a brief roundup of some notable comic book hotties — according ...[MORE]

A maker of things: ... and an artist for real: Andy Krieger

By Sean Bieri

Published: 9/10/2008

Types: Arts, Visual arts

On a table in the middle of Andy Krieger's workshop is a turquoise L-shaped box decorated with images of King Kong and the Empire State Building. It looks like an old-fashioned Bally arcade game. A group of 2-inch cardboard cutout island natives, standing on the box's base, raise their arms up...[MORE]

Manifest cuteness: 'Craft is the enemy' and other James Kochalka bylaws to piss off the pros

By Sean Bieri

Published: 4/30/2008

Types: Arts, Visual arts

Several years back, James Kochalka created what by rights should've been the last Hulk comic ever made. A gloomy but cartoony version of the green-skinned giant slogs through the mud as a torrential storm rains down on him. "Go ahead and rain on Hulk," he tells the sky. "You think Hulk care? R...[MORE]

Altared states: Religious folly gives this guy’s 'revisionist' work such joy

By Sean Bieri

Published: 2/27/2008

Types: Arts, Visual arts

Probably everyone, as a mischievous kid or maybe while stuck on hold with one bureaucracy or another, has taken a ballpoint to a magazine and indulged in a little amateur recontextualization. Why the hell not? It's a safe and harmless way to stick it to the pretty and privileged, and to have a...[MORE]

Jam pack

By Sean Bieri

Published: 1/2/2008

Types: Arts, Visual arts

The Pittsburgh art collective Paper Rad revels in all things lo-fi, lo-res and lowbrow, and it shows in the head-spinning array of rainbow-bright comics, animation and musical projects it produces. What Max Ernst did with illustrations from trashy Victorian novels, Paper Rad's Ben Jones, Jacob Ciocc...[MORE]

Plan 313 from Outer Space: The UFO factory explores the existential void

By Sean Bieri

Published: 9/19/2007

Types: Arts, Visual arts

The soundtrack: The jarring warbles and screams of lo-fi electronica and noise music. the scene: A silvery, futuristic command-and-control center in the heart of Detroit, from which three multi-tasking, otherworldly brainiacs beam their strange sounds and visions into the minds of unsuspecting ...[MORE]

Rule, Petrolia!: Where the beer store is closed and the bowling alley burned down

By Sean Bieri

Published: 6/13/2007

Types: Culture, Travel

...[MORE]

Drawing ire

By Sean Bieri

Published: 6/6/2007

Types: Arts, Literature, Comics

A quick browse through the regular roundups of political cartoons on Slate.com shows why America needs Mikhaela Reid. Let's be generous and blame format restrictions, deadline pressures and ossified traditions for the general lack of substance and originality, never mind humor, on the daily ed...[MORE]

Monster full-color double-truck

By Sean Bieri

Published: 5/9/2007

Types: Arts, Literature, Books

Fantagraphics' new bestiary of imaginary creatures is beautifully illustrated and handsomely produced, a credit to any art lover's library. But for all its coffee table pretentions, Beasts! ($28.95, 200 pp.) will feel strangely familiar to nerds of a certain age. It is, after all, just an el...[MORE]

Dear Heartbreaker

By Sean Bieri

Published: 5/9/2007

Types: Arts, Design

"They're kinda girly," says Metro Times' arts editor, as she hands me a slim pack of stationery and a hardcover journal, both decorated with art by pop master Glenn Barr. He's "Detroit's own," the stationery's publisher reminds us, as if we never heard of the guy. Across the top of each sheet,...[MORE]

Something’s fishy: David Lynch has literally lost it

By Sean Bieri

Published: 3/7/2007

Types: Arts, Literature, Books

Want to take a long look into the inner workings of cult filmmaker David Lynch's mind? Are you sure? It's not that it'd be too freaky for you — just the opposite, perhaps. Fans of Eraserhead, Blue Velvet and Twin Peaks will certainly recognize their boy in Lynch's book Catching the Big Fi...[MORE]

Lust comics

By Sean Bieri

Published: 2/14/2007

Types: Arts

Age of Sinnocence - by Jeremy Wheeler & Matt Delight ...[MORE]

Neverland raunch: Lost Girls graphic novel

By Sean Bieri

Published: 12/13/2006

Types: Arts, Literature, Comics

Lost Girls Alan Moore and Melinda Gebbie Top Shelf; $75 On the surface, this three-volume, hardcover, slipcased graphic novel is an elaborate Tijuana bible that casts grown-up versions of Wonderland's Alice, Dorothy of Oz and Wendy from Peter Pan as fuck buddies. Of course, Moore (Watchmen,...[MORE]

Strip teases: These days, even preening pre-teens are comic-carrying snobs, but there's plenty left for the rest of us

By Sean Bieri

Published: 6/14/2006

Types: Arts, Literature, Comics

It ain’t easy being a comics snob these days. Ten years ago, simply pointing out the existential angst underlying Charles Schulz’ Peanuts or knowing that Krazy Kat creator George Herriman was half African-American was enough to set you apart from the unwashed, Garfield-hugging masses...[MORE]

Gocco gone

By Sean Bieri

Published: 12/21/2005

Types: Arts, Crafts

About 28 years ago, some smart Japanese designers were searching for an efficient way to produce New Year’s greeting cards. Little did they know that their invention, a screen-printing gizmo called the Print Gocco, would also become popular with a devoted group of American fine artists, z...[MORE]

If insomnia by my destiny!

By Sean Bieri

Published: 4/27/2005

Types: Arts, Literature, Comics

...[MORE]

Comic (strip) relief: Sean Bieri's panel-by-panel look at a 24-hour comic-book fundraiser at Green Brain in Dearborn.

By Sean Bieri

Published: 9/24/2003

Types: Arts, Literature, Comics

...[MORE]

Frames of mind: A mammoth, mute anthology opens a new epoch.

By Sean Bieri

Published: 5/17/2000

Types: Arts, Literature, Comics

Comix 2000 L'Association, $65, 2048 pp. One good way to introduce a friend to the anthology Comix 2000 is to drop it on their desk. Since the titular two grand refers to the page count as well as the date, C2K lands not with the pathetic "plap" of a pamphlet, but the satisfying "whump" of a di...[MORE]

Graphically disruptive: Comics predators Donna Barr and Roberta Gregory stop in for a chat.

By Sean Bieri

Published: 7/11/2001

Types: Arts, Literature, Comics

Even within that rarefied subset of comics called the “alternatives,” the work of Donna Barr and Roberta Gregory stands out as unique. Gregory’s work first appeared in feminist underground anthologies, and in 1976 she drew “Dynamite Damsels,” the first solo comic book published by a woman. In 1991...[MORE]

The Krazy-est

By Sean Bieri

Published: 10/25/2000

Types: Arts, Literature, Comics

Attendees of Small Press Expo vote to decide the best of the year’s alternative comics. The list of this year’s Ignatz award winners makes a fine recommended reading list: Outstanding Series, Outstanding Artist: "Weasel," Dave Cooper Outstanding Graphic Novel or Collection: "From He...[MORE]

A whole lotta comics: Small Press Expo is one-stop shopping for the mad medium’s finest.

By Sean Bieri

Published: 10/25/2000

Types: Arts, Literature, Comics

The annual Small Press Expo, which took place last month in Bethesda, Md., is a gathering of the most innovative talent and all that’s truly exciting in the field of graphic narrative. From that cross section of the teeming universe of comics art, here are some of the standouts: “Cuckoo” For a...[MORE]

> PLACE CLASSIFIED AD